It’s that time again

6 12 2010

So a lot has happened since I last posted here.  The biggest and most time consuming thing was definitely marrying my girlfriend of four years.  The wedding went great, which I am very thankful for considering all the time and money that my wife invested into it.  We also went on our honeymoon to Gatlinburg TN, which was great as well.  We stayed for a week in a cabin with an amazing view and did a lot of catching up on R&R.  The hot tub on the porch was put to good use.  I was a bit disappointed when I discovered that it wasn’t a hot tub time machine, though. On the last day there, however, we were rear-ended by four old ladies in a Chevy Impala.  They were sweet old ladies, and I felt bad for them, but I guess thats what happens when you look at Christmas lights instead of brake lights while driving on a busy highway.

I also finished up P90X.  I lost 36 lbs while doing the program, and I really had a great time learning about fitness and nutrition in a way that I never had before – by experience.  I am sorry to say, however, that since finishing in November, I’m already on my way back up the scale.  I haven’t crossed the 200lb threshold again yet, but I’m getting close.  Since getting married, I’ve eaten nothing but wedding cake, cheese cake, turkey and dressing, fried chicken, and basically all the things that I had taught myself to stay away from during the program.  They have tasted great, but I can already see my stomach growing back to the point that it was when I started.  Three months of labor being overtaken by one month of cake and lack of exercise doesn’t seem quite fair, but I guess I have no one to blame but myself.

I plan to get back into it soon, but with the Christmas holiday coming, and with the size of my family and the amount of dinners we eat together, I might just be better off making it a new year’s resolution for 2011.  By that point, I should have my wife’s 200 pairs of shoes moved into the house, all of our wedding gifts cleared out of the living room, and have some space to work out again.  But I can cross that bridge when I get to it.

Since my last update, I’ve also started another job.  I’ve been working part-time with my uncles in the family business.  They do freight management and global logistics.  At the present moment, I’m working there on Thursdays and Fridays (days off from my full-time job), but I’m hoping to get a full-time position within a few months.  They are looking at purchasing a warehouse for freight storage and management, and if that is followed through with, I’ll be the General Manager there.  So here’s to hoping.

Well, theres the biggest reasons that I’ve been slacking on updates lately.  It’s not that I’ve neglected the 2 people who read this blog, and its not that I haven’t wanted to post here, but it was just that over the past two months or so I have been completely swamped with stuff.  But hopefully now that the wedding is over with and we’re getting settled into my place, I’ll be able to write more.  I’ll be posting again later today with some thoughts on the release of Cataclysm (which is tonight), my expectations for it, and how I plan to take over the world of Azeroth.

*Queue evil laugh*

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

