Sharpen your mind – Read a book

10 09 2010

Over the past few months, I have really rediscovered an old hobby of mine.  It is something that is relaxing, rewarding, and is a healthy activity for my mind.

Books.

Before I started reading again, it had been probably 4-5 years since I had read a book just for the enjoyment of it, or because it interested me.  For the longest time I honestly just saw no need to pick up a book.  Why would anyone read a book when there are movies to be watched, games to be played, and websites to be checked?  I mean, when you think about it, books are really quite boring in comparison to gaming, which provides interaction with the game, interaction with other people, and challenges you on multiple levels.  I mean, how can books compete with a force like that?  Well, I have come to realize that books have a lot to offer that movies and games just cannot provide.

It is incredibly rewarding to flip the last page of a great book.  If it is a fictional book, it gives you the freedom and the thrill of exercising your imagination.  It is very relaxing to sit back, read a book, and completely envision everything that the author is telling you.  Sure a plot and a setting is provided by the Author, but the fine details are up to you to decide.

For the fantasy lover, check out The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

I enjoy reading fantasy books a lot.  They compliment many of the games that I play, which makes for a more enjoyable experience while both reading and gaming.  But I also enjoy reading books that motivate me.  Whether its entrepreneurial motivation, spiritual motivation, or health motivation, I find them all interesting and enjoyable to read, and I come away from the feeling inspired and motivated.

Entrepreneurial motivation at its best: Crush It! by Gary Vaynerchuck

The book mentioned above is truly a great book to read.  Gary Vaynerchuk, host of Wine Library TV, is a guy who invests everything he is into his passions, his business, and his life.  He is truly a motivational guy to the core, and I am appreciative of this book that he has written.  If you are a blogger, a gamer, or hell even a tennis shoe collector, I definitely recommend you give this a read.  Its relatively short, so it is not a huge time investment.  I read it in 2 days on and off.  After you read it, you will be glad that you did.

So I’m looking for a new book to read.  What are some of your favorites?  Anything you would suggest for me to read?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

