My goals for 2011

29 12 2010

I am a “lists” kind of guy. I like to make lists. Even when it comes to pointless things like the books I want to read, or the movies i want to watch; I just like to make lists! So naturally, I’m going to make a list of my goals for the year of 2011. I don’t really like calling them “resolutions”, because who actually calls goals resolutions? You don’t say “My resolution is to finish this report by Friday.” Besides, the whole New Year’s Resolution thing is worn out, and it can intimidate people into not setting any goals at all for the upcoming year. Its a brand new year and setting some short-term and long-term goals wouldn’t hurt anything. If you don’t meet them, then so what?

I thought I would share my list of goals for the upcoming year for a few reasons: (1) I’ll have somewhere online to reference and mark off the goals that I reach, and remind me of the ones that I don’t. (2) As I complete each goal, I will mention on the blog how I did it, how it has affected me, and what I gained from it. It will be interesting for me to look back on, and hopefully interesting for you to read as well.

And so, here are my goals for the year of 2011. I took the time to categorize them into professional goals, personal goals, and financial goals. I also noted whether they are short-term or long-term commitments.

(L) = Long-term
(S) = Short-term

Professional
(L) Blog more often / Show more dedication
(S) Find a new job / Move to day shift
(L) Finish and manage website for Five Star

Personal
(L) P90X round two (and keep the weight off!)
(S) Take my wife on a date to the beach
(S) Read The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman
(L) Read my Bible and pray more
(L) Be more active in church
(S) Paint/Renovate at least one room in the house
(S) Deep cleaning of the house
(L) Improve my handwriting
(S) Inspire Someone
(L) Have a more positive attitude in general

Financial
(L) Save more and spend less
(L) Pay off my truck
(L) Pay off half of my credit card debt

And there you have it, my goals for 2011. Have you made any plans for the new year yet? Do you plan on doing so? If so, share some of them with me.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 01 2011
rav4ge

Have a more positive attitude in general – that’s a good one. I could work on that myself.

Best of luck to you in the new year!

25 01 2011
medwa

Thanks man, same to you.

3 01 2011
Brett

I dig your approach. I think I’ll follow in your footsteps and do the same. No resolutions but sturdy, attainable goals moving forward. Good luck with them! It’ll be very rewarding when you (we) check them off. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

